Via Major League Lacrosse

Midfielder Roy Colsey scored a postseason record 10 points, Matt Striebel notched nine and face-off specialist Paul Cantabene won a playoff record 27 face-offs as the Philadelphia Barrage defeated the Denver Outlaws 23-12 in front of 5,734 fans at The Home Depot Center in Carson, California. It was Philadelphia‚??s second MLL Championship in the last three years. Colsey was named the 2006 New Balance Championship Weekend MVP. The 23 points scored by the Barrage was a Championship Game record.

Colsey scored six goals, two of which were two-pointers and added two assists for 10 points, breaking the previous record of eight. Striebel scored four goals, one for two-points and added four assists for nine. The teammates both notched 15 points over the course of the 2006 New Balance Championship Weekend. Cantabene broke the previous record of 24 face-off wins in a postseason game, which he set last season as a member of the Baltimore Bayhawks. He also added a goal.

The first quarter was high scoring, as Philadelphia built a 7-4 lead. Rookie midfielder Matt Zash and midfielder Bobby Horsey scored the first two goals before Denver responded with a three goal run of their own, to take a one goal lead. That was the last time the Outlaws would lead, as Philadelphia scored four of the next five goals, including a two-pointer by Striebel to finish the quarter.

Striebel and Colsey would combine for all five goals of Philadelphia‚??s goals in the second quarter, including two Colsey two-pointers to help Philadelphia build a 14-7 lead at halftime. Midfielder‚??s Brian Langtry and Matt Rewkowski and attackman Jeff Zywicki scored for Denver in that frame.

The third quarter was much of the same, as Philadelphia outscored the Outlaws 6-3 to take a 20-10 lead entering the final frame. Philadelphia went on a six goal run to begin the quarter, until Brendan Mundorf added two goals and Geoff Snider added one for Denver to halt the mounting Barrage attack. Philadelphia had a balanced scoring attack, as five different players scored.

The fourth quarter was the lowest scoring as Philadelphia wrapped things up by outscoring Denver 3-2 to give them a 23-12 final. B.J. Prager, Justin Smith and Michael Springer all notched goals for the Barrage. Mundorf scored one to give him a hat-trick for the day, and Matt Brown also added his lone tally.

Other than Colsey and Striebel, the Barrage were led by Prager, who notched a hat-trick and added one assist, Ryan Boyle, who did not score a goal but tallied four assists and Justin Smith who notched two goals. The Outlaws were led by Mundorf, who finished with three goals and one assist, giving the rookie nine goals and two assists for the New Balance Championship Weekend. Langtry also added two goals and two assists, as did midfielder Mike Law. Denver‚??s Jeff Sonke, named to the 2006 All-MLL Team, did not play due to injury.

For the goaltenders, Brian Dougherty, the 2006 Warrior Goalie of the Year made 19 saves. Denver‚??s Trevor Tierney made 20, but was also issued three penalties in the loss.

The Barrage are now undefeated in postseason play, and hold a 4-0 record in the playoffs. They also tied the Baltimore Bayhawks and Long Island Lizards for most MLL Championships with two.