From media releases

For the second consecutive year, Virginia’s second-year attack Blair Weymouth (Holderness, N.H.) has been recognized by the prestigious Tewaaraton Award Foundation. One of 15 final nominees in 2006, Weymouth is one of 34 women on the preseason watch list for 2007.

The 34 student-athletes that compose the list were nominated by coaches across all three divisions and are considered early season hopefuls for the 2007 award. The list will be narrowed as the season progresses, ultimately reaching a list of five players who constitute the award’s finalists.

Weymouth, the 2006 National Rookie of the Year, put together one of the most prolific rookie seasons in school history. She was named the ACC Freshman of the Year after helping the Cavaliers tie for the best record in the regular season; Weymouth was also an integral part in Virginia’s winning the ACC tournament title with a six-goal performance in the title game and the upset of top-ranked and top-seeded Duke. She tied the first-year record for assists with 21, and her 70 points and 49 goals both rank second on the all-time list among first-years. She was named the National Rookie of the Week by on March 14 and April 24 in 2006.

The Tewaaraton Award Foundation, in conjunction with The University Club of Washington, D.C., formally established the Tewaaraton Trophy on August 29, 2000. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is one of the top lacrosse awards honoring collegiate lacrosse players in the United States. With the inaugural presentation taking place at the University Club of Washington, D.C. in June of 2001, the Tewaaraton Trophy is now presented annually following the collegiate season at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

The Cavaliers continue their 2007 season with a game against in-state and conference rival Virginia Tech on Wednesday, February 21. Game time at University Hall Turf Field is at 7 p.m. The game is part of the Commonwealth Challenge, presented by Comcast. The winner of the game will earn one point for their school in the annual all-sports competition between the two universities.